Formula Racing

British Grand Prix – Race Review

Rosberg wins a dramatic British Grand Prix
By Armaan Ebrahim

Starting from the front row, Nico Rosberg ran a strong race in third with his opponents ahead in sight. Things took a turn for the better for him, when his teammate Lewis Hamilton was the first one of four drivers to suffer a puncture and then, with ten laps to go, race-long leader Seb Vettel lost drive and came to a halt on the front straight after a gearbox failure! That brought out the safety car and Mercedes, like Red Bull and Ferrari made the smart decision of calling their drivers in for a fresh set of tyres for the short sprint that lay ahead. In the end, Nico did just about enough to hold off a charging Mark Webber to claim his and Mercedes’ second win of the season.

Mark Webber, who was driving his last British GP, had the perfect ending. But it did not come easy by any means. After starting from the second row, Mark was hit by Romain Grosjean while going into the first corner and this resulted in him dropping down the field with damage to his Red Bull's front wing. After two safety cars and a change in strategy, Webber found himself fighting at the front. A series of fastest laps with some solid passes resulted in the Aussie Grit finishing about a second behind Rosberg.

Fernando Alonso managed to salvage another podium after a weekend where the Ferraris clearly struggled. He started in 9th, and you would expect a usual Scudaria rocket start but not this time. Alonso was swallowed off the line but managed to get back to his starting position after the first corner. Fernando, like Webber, put on a set of new tyres during the last safety car and fought past the slower traffic to complete the podium at the end and more importantly, close the gap on championship leader Vettel.

In fourth was Lewis Hamilton who was leading until he suffered a puncture but an absolutely brilliant drive from the back of the field gave the ever-enthusiastic home crowd a lot smile about.The biggest point to take away from this was that Lewis was able to show such pace without making an additional stop.Mercedes seemed to have turned a lead this weekend, showing strong pace through the race and not just in qualifying.

Kimi Raikkonen was disappointed with his fifth place because he was running in second once Vettel stopped but the team didn't call him in for a fresh set of slicks. Once the field were racing again, Kimi was like a sitting duck compared to the guys who made the stops.He was followed by Filipe Massa who should be pretty happy with his result after suffering a puncture and going into a spin.

Sahara Force India had another really impressive weekend. On Saturday Di Resta qualified a magnificent fifth and Sutil ended just behind him in seventh. Unfortunately in post qualifying scrutiny Paul was found underweight and was pushed to the back of the grid for Sunday. Even with the penalty both Sutil and Di Resta came in to finish in seventh and ninth respectively.They surely are a force to be reckoned with and seem to be cementing themselves in 5th position in the constructors and are quite a bit ahead of McLaren.

This certainly was one of the most thrilling Grand Prix in a long time which saw some great racing, pit strategies that made the difference and lots of drama! Next up – the legendary Nurburgring.

Germany GP

31st July 2016

  • Driver Team Time/Lag
  • Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:30:44.200
  • Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Racing + 6.996s
  • Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing + 13.413s
  • Nico Rosberg Mercedes + 15.845s
  • Sebastian Vettel Ferrari + 32.750s
  • Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari + 37.273s
  • Nico Hulkenberg Force India + 70.049
  • Jenson Button McLaren + 1 lap
  • Valtteri Bottas Williams + 1 lap
  • Sergio Perez Force India + 1 lap

Belgian GP

26th - 28thAug 2016

  • Practice 1 Fri 26th Aug 2016

  • Practice 2 Fri 26th Aug 2016

  • Practice 3 Sat 27th Aug 2016

  • Qualifying Sat 27th Aug 2016

  • Race Sun 28th Aug 2016


Formula One World Championship 2016

  • Driver Points Team
  • Lewis Hamilton 217 Mercedes
  • Nico Rosberg 198 Mercedes
  • Daniel Ricciardo 133 Red Bull Racing
  • Kimi Räikkönen 122 Ferrari
  • Sebastian Vettel 120 Ferrari
  • Max Verstappen 115 Red Bull Racing
  • Valtteri Bottas 58 Williams Mercedes
  • Sergio Perez 48 Force India Mercedes
  • Felipe Massa 38 Williams Mercedes
  • Nico Hulkenberg 33 Force India Mercedes