Formula Racing

Abu Dhabi Grand Prix Race Review

Raikkonen Wins For LOTUS At Abu Dhabi – By Armaan Ebrahim

The Abu Dhabi Grand Prix had me at the edge of my seat the whole way. It had everything from wheel to wheel racing, incidents, mechanical failures and an unexpected winner! Kimi Raikkonen winning his first Grand Prix since returning to the sport and Lotus's first win since 1987.

Lewis Hamilton looked like he was going to dominate just like he did in qualifying but it just wasn't his day with the Mclaren driver pulling aside on lap 19 with a fuel pressure problem. This gave the lead to a fast starting Raikkonen who jumped from 4th to 2nd even before the first corner at the start. After inheriting the lead from Hamilton the Finn was completely in control even when his lead was washed away thanks to a long safety car period.

Fernando Alonso once again muscled his Ferrari to second to keep the championship race alive. Having got past Webber in the beginning with a brilliant move around the outside on the back straight breezed through a struggling Maldonado before the first pit stop.

The biggest gainer of all was Sebastian Vettel who made the most out of the incidents and problems that others faced to come through the field from starting in the pit lane to finishing 3rd. After his penalty post qualifying the Red Bull driver decided to start from the pits which benefited him. This was simply because he was allowed to make set up changes to the car for the race as well as decide what tire to start on. The German didn't have things easy. After moving up through the mid field contact with one of the Williams cars and running straight into a marker board damaged his front wing and had to pit early. This played into his favor when the others pitted a few laps later which catapulted the Red Bull driver to 2nd.

Jenson Button was the sole Mclaren and looked set in third but an aggressive Vettel made a bold move stick with just 4 laps to go. Pastor Maldonado finished a creditable 5th considering the fact that he had a KERS problem. Kobayashi finished 6th for Sauber to close the gap to only 20 points to Mercedes for 6th in the constructors’ championship. Further down there was a great battle between Di Resta, Perez and Grosjean which ended in them colliding where the latter lost control and ran straight into the luckless Mark Webber. This worked in favor of Massa, Senna, Di Resta and Riccardo who rounded out the top ten.

Force India didn't have the best of weekends with both cars involved in a first corner incident where Nico Hulkenberg was eliminated immediately and Paul Di Resta suffered a puncture that sent him to a pit stop. On the bright side, Di Resta worked his way through the chaos and drove a gritty race to bring the car home in 9th and continue the teams point scoring run.

With just two rounds to go and only ten points separating Vettel and Alonso things can't get more heated up in Formula One. Austin Texas is next up and it'll be the first ever race there with Formula One making its return to the States. The track looks really good with a couple of great overtaking spots which should me things even more exciting.

It’s was one hell of an end to the Championship in what's been one of the best years in Grand Prix history!

Germany GP

31st July 2016

  • Driver Team Time/Lag
  • Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:30:44.200
  • Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Racing + 6.996s
  • Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing + 13.413s
  • Nico Rosberg Mercedes + 15.845s
  • Sebastian Vettel Ferrari + 32.750s
  • Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari + 37.273s
  • Nico Hulkenberg Force India + 70.049
  • Jenson Button McLaren + 1 lap
  • Valtteri Bottas Williams + 1 lap
  • Sergio Perez Force India + 1 lap

Belgian GP

26th - 28thAug 2016

  • Practice 1 Fri 26th Aug 2016

  • Practice 2 Fri 26th Aug 2016

  • Practice 3 Sat 27th Aug 2016

  • Qualifying Sat 27th Aug 2016

  • Race Sun 28th Aug 2016


Formula One World Championship 2016

  • Driver Points Team
  • Lewis Hamilton 217 Mercedes
  • Nico Rosberg 198 Mercedes
  • Daniel Ricciardo 133 Red Bull Racing
  • Kimi Räikkönen 122 Ferrari
  • Sebastian Vettel 120 Ferrari
  • Max Verstappen 115 Red Bull Racing
  • Valtteri Bottas 58 Williams Mercedes
  • Sergio Perez 48 Force India Mercedes
  • Felipe Massa 38 Williams Mercedes
  • Nico Hulkenberg 33 Force India Mercedes